“The annual graduation ceremony for family medicine residents was held at the Scarboro Golf and Country Club on June 22, with graduates, families, friends, and physician preceptors in attendance. Addresses were given by Dr. Dick Zoutman, Chief of Staff, and Liz Buller, President and CEO.

Congratulations and welcome to our colleagues and new physicians: Dr. Dale Connor, Dr. Wael Mahmoud, Dr. Sahar Othman, Dr. Jessica Rodriguez, Dr. Anthea Selvanthar, Dr. Petra Wildgoose, Dr. Zhixing (Jack) Xu, Dr. Amir Zeinaly, and Dr. Yuan (Helen) Zhao.

The Department of Family and Community Medicine also recognized physicians who have made outstanding contributions to teaching in our program. The Faculty Award recipients this year were:

Dr. Barnett I. Giblon Award “ (Outstanding contributions in the areas of Family Medicine, Education, Research or Community Service)
-Dr. Janice Weiss

Lifetime Achievement Award – (Dedication and excellence in teaching residents and medical students at SRH in family medicine & specialty category)
-Dr. David Law, Family Medicine
-Dr. John Acker, Rheumatologist

Teacher of the Year Award (in family medicine and specialty category)
-Dr. David Wheler, Family Medicine
-Dr. Leah Tattum, Paediatrician



Top from left: Dr. Wael Mahmoud, Dr. Dale Connor, , Dr. Zhixing (Jack) Xu, Dr. Amir Zeinaly
Bottom from left: Dr. Jennifer McDonald- Post-graduate Program Dir., Dr. Anthea Selvantha, Dr. Sahar Othman, Dr. Jessica
Rodriguez, Dr. Yuan (Helen) Zhao, Dr. Petra Wildgoose, Stacey McKeown (Milley) – Program Assistant