As another year of shaping the future of care passes, Scarborough Health Network (SHN) would like to recognize the outstanding achievements of our medical staff, who continue to go above and beyond for the development of medicine and medical education.

The Department of Family and Community Medicine (DFCM) at the University of Toronto is made up of outstanding individuals, including remarkable SHN staff, who are dedicated to the advancement of family medicine.

On October 3, the DFCM recognized and celebrated SHN faculty who showed extraordinary commitment to this cause over the course of 2023.

“We are pleased to recognize our faculty, staff, and learners for their hard work and successes in clinical care, education, research, leadership, and administration over the past year,” said Dr. Thea Weisdorf, Faculty Lead of DFCM.

Congratulations to the following DFCM 2023 award winners:

Excellence in Leadership – HPE Community Affiliated 
Ms. Aurthi Muthukumaran

Excellence in Social Responsibility – Community Affiliated
Dr. Latif Murji

Continuing Education and Graduate Studies Instructor Award
Dr. Susanna Fung

Excellence in Teaching and Education
Dr. Caroline Chan

CFCP TD Spotlight on Achievement Award
Dr. Onyenyechukwu Nnorom

New Teacher Award
Dr. Paula Pop

Teaching Excellence
Dr. Vignesh Shankar Sethuraman

PGY1 Impact Award: Increasing Colorectal Cancer Screening Rates
Dr. Vignesh Shankar Sethuraman, Dr. Kent Tang and Dr. Hrishov Sacker

Faculty and Staff Impact Award
Dr. James Carson and Ms. Carolyn Smith

Teaching Excellence – Clerkship
Dr. David Wheeler